Adventure for Your Mind

Home of the Deveran Conflict Series

Novels by Robert Luis Rabello

Ceremonies and Celebrations is, "Compulsively readable." (Writer's Digest)

"Robert Luis Rabello is a God-gifted writer, people!" (Janie Squier, reviewing "Four Days to Freedom")

"Expect to deeply know the characters as they explore romance, family ties, and friendships in this book that will keep you turning page after page through the twists and turns of their crises." (Lisa Stevens, reviewing "Crisis")

"A truly incredible first novel." (Dan Stormont, reviewing "The Edge of Justice")

Big News!

The Edge of Justice, the premier novel in the Deveran Conflict Series, is now available in multiple e-book formats for FREE at Smashwords.

Get your copy here: 

The Edge of Justice: Deveran Conflict Series, Book I

Brenna Velez meets a squad of Azgar soldiers in The Edge of Justice.

The Inquest: Book VI

The latest novel in the Deveran Conflict Series

is available exclusively at Amazon.

Click on the book image to visit its Amazon store page.

The Inquest Cover

 Haunted by distressing memories of his recent combat tour, Lieutenant Garrick Ravenwood returns home to his beloved wife and family. Against the backdrop of a Senate Inquest probing the conduct of the Expeditionary Force, Garrick is drawn into the ongoing conflict involving his little sister, Kira.
Someone thinks she's a threat.
Someone wants her dead . . .

Kindle Version Shortcut

Explore the Series

Click on the book image to visit its Amazon store page.

When the Azgaril Northern Liberation Army invades the tiny nation of Tamaria, Centurion Dathan Herulus struggles to harmonize his orders with his conscience. As the Azgaril army marches northward, Garrick Ravenwood, a young Tamarian soldier with a troubled past, meets Brenna Velez, a Lithian warlord's daughter who has fled the destruction of her homeland. Their meeting leads to love, and their courage helps Tamaria resist the might of the invading force.

Multiple e-book formats are available here:

The Edge of Justice

The Long Journey: Book II

Click on the book image to visit its Amazon store page.

As a brutal civil war encroaches on the Tamarian border, Garrick Ravenwood undertakes officer training in preparation to stop the humanitarian crisis. Brenna Velez, the girl he loves, worries that the strife in Kameron will destroy her family, their exile estate and their high-tech light forges. Meanwhile Garrick's younger brother, Algernon, travels into the war zone to find and rescue his wayward twin sister.

Multiple e-book versions are available here:

The Long Journey

Crisis: Book III

Click on the book image to visit its Amazon store page.

In late autumn, Algernon Ravenwood struggles to finish a home he can share with his twin sister, Kira, on Superstition Mesa. To his dismay, the young monk discovers giants living nearby. Kira suffers a lingering, secret malaise. As her past haunts her present, can she find hope for the future? Garrick, their brother, faces defeat as a combat leader in Kameron and struggles with dissent within his ranks, while his beloved Brenna is taken captive by Kamerese rebels. Will she seek revenge for her mistreatment when she escapes, or can Brenna find the courage and grace to forgive?
Multiple e-book versions are available here:


Ceremonies and Celebrations: Book IV

Click on the book image to visit its Amazon store page.

Cassie Velez and her fiancee, Jared Hohner--uneasy guests of King Alejo at his palace in Kameron City--witness rioting and intrigue as they advocate for a peaceful resolution to Kameron's political problems. Kira and Algernon Ravenwood begin ministering to exploited women in Tamaria's capital, coping with mistrust and outright hostility. Garrick worries that his fiancee, Brenna Velez, is suffering from mental illness in the days leading up to their long-anticipated wedding. Can he accept her faith and love her while she struggles against spiritual forces he can neither see nor understand?

Multiple e-book versions are available here:

Ceremonies and Celebrations

Ceremonies and Celebrations Promotional Video 

Dreams and Missions: Book V

Click on the book image to visit its Amazon store page.

Dreams and Missions

When Algernon Ravenwood falls into the Desolation River, he is compelled by circumstances to confront his personal weaknesses. Kira, Algernon’s twin sister, has to face strong opposition to her charitable work without the formidable assistance of her brothers. While Garrick, the twins’ older brother, is deployed to the Saradon Plateau, his new bride, Brenna, faces life without her beloved.

Multiple e-book versions are available here:

Dreams and Missions


These are shorter, stand-alone stories that provide background for the novels. These e-books are an excellent introduction for new readers. They're available in Kindle format on Amazon (click on a book cover to go to its Kindle page), or in multiple formats (click the title in the description to go to its Smashwords page) if you don't own a Kindle.


 The Girl in the Game: Fourth year seminary student Lynden Velez has a fateful encounter with the star center of Sacred Vimlitia during a school-sponsored lacrosse tournament. Who is the girl? Why is she playing men's lacrosse? How can Lynden get to know her when she won't talk to him?

Four Days to Freedom: Amid an insurgency spreading through the ancient city of Abelscinnia, paramilitary police detectives investigate the highly suspicious activities of a wealthy businessman named Tegene, son of Asabi. Why is he buying weapons and heavy equipment? Is Tegene planning to overthrow the government, or does he have something else in mind?

The Hollow Solitude: Of all the creatures who live in the upland forest, the winged gwynling are the most beautiful, intelligent and endangered. What will happen when Jhiran Vell finds herself trapped on a gunboat with smugglers? Will her wits be enough to preserve her life?

Top of Page